Posted: 12:49 pm Friday, June 5th, 2009

Jacob Johnson, Mike Harper win baseball post-season awards 

By Jason Lieser

Trinity Christian’s Jacob Johnson is the Class 1A co-Player of the year and South Fork’s Mike Harper won Class 5A Coach of the Year honors in the 2009 Florida Dairy Farmers awards

By winning in their classes, Johnson and Harper are up for Mr. Baseball and statewide all-classification Coach of the Year awards, respectively. Park Vista coach Larry Greenstein finished third in Class 6A and John Carroll coach Mike Easom was third in Class 3A.

Here are the class winners for Player of the Year awards (this is also the finalists list for Mr. Baseball):

Class 6A: Patrick Schuster, New Port Richey-Mitchell, senior, pitcher/first baseman

Class 5A: Mychal Givens, Tampa-Plant, senior, shortstop/pitcher

Class 4A: Josh Patton, Naples, senior, pitcher

Class 3A: Jordan Carroll, Madison County, senior, first baseman/pitcher

Class 2A: John Nogowski, Tallahassee-North Florida Christian, sophomore, outfield/pitcher

Class 1A: Jacob Johnson, Lake Worth Trinity Christian, senior, pitcher, and Josh Romeo, Brooksville-Hernando Christian, senior, first baseman

The Coach of the Year awards went to:

Class 6A: Mike Smith, Altamonte Springs-Lake Brantley

Class 5A: Mike Harper, South Fork

Class 4A: Rick Turner, Naples

Class 3A: Storm Davis, Jacksonville-Bolles

Class 2A: Mac Mackiewitz, Jacksonville-Providence

Class 1A: Rick Shears, Tampa-Cambridge