Posted: 2:16 pm Thursday, June 11th, 2009

UF signee Patrick Schuster is Mr. Baseball; Jacob Johnson fifth in voting 

By Jason Lieser

In the 2009 Mr. Baseball voting, it was hard to overlook Patrick Schuster’s four straight no-hitters. Schuster, who graduated from New Port Richey-Mitchell and signed with the Florida Gators, was named Mr. Baseball in a Florida Dairy Farmers press release Thursday.

Trinity Christian’s Jacob Johnson, a Wake Forest signee who was drafted by the Cincinnati Reds in the 11th round yesterday, finished fifth in the voting. The Arizona Diamondbacks picked Schuster in the 13th round.

South Fork coach Mike Harper, who led the Bulldogs to their first state championship this year, finished second in the voting for statewide Coach of the Year. Naples’ Rick Turner, whose team went 33-1 to win the Class 4A championship, won that award by taking seven of the 11 first-place votes.

Here is how the voting went for Mr. Baseball (first-place votes in parenthesis):

Patrick Schuster, New Port Richey-Mitchell, 94 (6)

Josh Patton, Naples, 77 (4)

Mychal Givens, Tampa-Plant, 59 (1)

Jordan Carroll, Madison County, 41

Jacob Johnson, Trinity Christian, 37

John Nogowski, Tallahasee-North Florida Christian, 34

Josh Romeo, Brooksville-Hernando Christian, 30

Past Mr. Baseball winners include:

1993 – Alex Rodriguez, Miami-Westminster

1994 – Doug Million, Sarasota

1995 – Doug Blosser, Sarasota

1996 – Nick Stocks, Tampa Jesuit

1997 – Geoff Geotz, Tampa Jesuit

1998 – Felipe Lopez, Altamonte Springs-Lake Brantley

1999 – Bobby Bradley, Wellington

2000 – Tony Richie, Bishop Kenny

2001 – Casey Kotchman, Seminole

2002 – Edgar Ramirez, Miami-Southridge

2003 – James Houser, Sarasota

2004 – Warren McFadden, Davie-Nova

2005 – Andrew McCutchen, Fort Meade

2006 – Max Sapp, Orlando-Bishop Moore

2007 – Michael Main, Deland

2008 – Casey Kelly, Sarasota