Posted: 10:15 am Wednesday, November 18th, 2009

No Glades Central, Pahokee players on FACA all-district (again) 

By Jason Lieser

For the second straight year (and possibly even longer), there are no players from Pahokee or Glades Central on this season’s Florida Athletic Coaches Association all-district team.

No Greg Dent, L.J. Thomas, Travis Bell or Robert Way. No Chris Dunkley, Richard Ash, Merrill Noel or Fred Pickett.

District 17 encompasses 47 teams from Vero Beach to Boca Raton, and runs as far west as Belle Glade, Pahokee and Okeechobee. It is essentially the entire Palm Beach Post coverage area (our northern cutoff is Fort Pierce, so we do not include Vero Beach).

Six teams in the Post‘s Top 10 did not land a player on the team: Pahokee, Glades Central, Boca Raton, American Heritage, West Boca Raton and Palm Beach Lakes.

Of the 47 coaches in District 17, only 21 showed up to the meeting where votes were cast for this team, said Benjamin coach Ron Ream, the district chairman. Generally, coaches who do not attend do not get recognition for the players on their team, so that is a possible explanation for apparent omissions.

We do not have a list of who went to the meeting.

Bearing that in mind, here is the FACA all-district team for our area:


QB: Marshyl Rothman, Jupiter Christian, senior

RB: Tre Mason, Park Vista, junior

FB: Gerald Christian, Dwyer, senior

FL: James Louis, Atlantic, senior

SE: Brett Thiesen, Jensen Beach, senior

TE: Nick O’Leary, Dwyer, junior

C: Shane McDermott, Palm Beach Central, senior

OG: Travonte Boles, Vero Beach, senior

OG: Tony Kibler, Glades Day, senior

OT: Marcus Jackson, Vero Beach, junior

OT: Bobby Olsen, Cardinal Newman, senior

K: Cody Parkey, Jupiter, senior


DE: Curt Maggitt, Dwyer, junior

DE: Denzel Reed, Palm Beach Gardens, senior

DT: D.J. McCellion, Atlantic, senior

DT: Kenny Shaw, Dwyer, senior

LB: Jeff Luc, Treasure Coast, senior

LB: Ed Foley, Treasure Coast, senior

LB: Matt Elam, Dwyer, senior

CB: Ian Williams, King’s Academy, senior

CB: Robert Clark, Dwyer, senior

SS: John Calibria, Cardinal Newman, senior

FS: Woodley Cadet, Seminole Ridge, senior

P: Andrew Ortiz, King’s Academy, senior

There are some pretty big names missing from that list.

When voting for “Player of the Year,” the voters consider players from all teams, whether their coaches are present at the meeting or not:


6A — Jeff Luc, LB, Treasure Coast

5A — Albert Wilson, QB/DB, Port St. Lucie

4A — Matt Elam, LB/RB, Dwyer

3A — Tevin Wilson, RB/DB, Jensen Beach

2A — Zach Wilke, WR, St. Andrew’s

2B — Brandon Smith, QB, Cardinal Newman

1A — Darius Milines, QB/WR/DB, American Heritage

1B — Kelvin Taylor, RB, Glades Day

District MVP: Matt Elam, Dwyer

Runners-up (in order): Jeff Luc, Treasure Coast; Gerald Christian, Dwyer.

Same goes for “Coach of the Year” voting:


6A — Bill Kelley, Treasure Coast

5A — Frank Kunf, Royal Palm Beach

4A — Jack Daniels, Dwyer

3A — Lance Jenkins, Jensen Beach

2A — George McCartin, St. Andrew’s

2B — Steve Walsh, Cardinal Newman

1A — Willie Bueno, American Heritage

1B — Pete Walker, Glades Day

All-Class Coach of the Year: Pete Walker, Glades Day.

I’m guessing this might generation a little discussion. If so, please be civilized. There is no need for personal attacks toward any player or fellow reader. Thanks.