Posted: 1:09 pm Friday, March 19th, 2010

Dwyer, Grandview Prep get top-three finishes in Player, Coach of the Year voting 

By Jason Lieser

Dwyer basketball star Jacoby Brissett was the area’s top vote-getter among Player and Coach of the Year nominees, finishing second in Class 5A.

His coach, Fred Ross, was third in Coach of the Year voting.

Grandview Prep center Ismaila Dauda and coach Joe Dawson each placed third in their categories for Class 1A.

Voting is done by media members throughout Florida and the awards are presented by the Florida Dairy Farmers.

All classification winners are candidates for Mr. Basketball and the statewide Coach of the Year awards.

Here are the full results for Player of the Year:

Class 6A
1. Austin Rivers, Winter Park
2. Shane Larkins, Orlando-Dr. Phillips
3. Xavier Martin, Miramar

Class 5A
1. Jeremiah Samarippas, Bartow
2. Jacoby Brissett, Dwyer
3. Rashawn Rembert, Tampa-Sickles

Class 4A
1. Cady Lalanne, Orlando-Oak Ridge
2. Sam Mills, Fort Lauderdale-Cardinal Gibbons
3. Evan Graham, Fort Myers

Class 3A
1. Brandon Knight, Fort Lauderdale-Pine Crest
2. Chris Bryant, Tallahassee-Rickards
3. Alonzo Robertson, Avon Park

Class 2A
1. Patric Young, Jacksonville-Providence
2. Fabricio Melo, Weston-Sagemont
3. Stacey Poole, Jacksonville-Providence

Class 1A
1. Josh Castelanos, Orlando Christian Prep
2. Justin Jackson, Jacksonville-Arlington Country Day
3. Ismaila Dauda, Grandview Prep

Here are the Coach of the Year voting results:

Class 6A
1. David Bailey, Winter Park
2. Anthony Long, Orlando-Dr. Phillips
3. Eugene Richardson, Lauderdale Lakes-Boyd Anderson

Class 5A
1. Terrence McGriff, Bartow
2. Renaldo Garcia, Tampa-Sickles
3. Fred Ross, Dwyer

Class 4A
1. Scott Guttery, Fort Myers
2. Derek Heard, Orlando-Oak Ridge
3. Marty Seidlin, Fort Lauderdale-Cardinal Gibbons

Class 3A
1. Eli Bryant, Tallahassee-Rickards
2. Steve Faulkner, Williston
3. Luther Clemons, Avon Park

Class 2A
1. Jim Martin, Jacksonville-Providence
2. Joe Fenlon, Tampa Prep
3. Derek Kurnitsky, Port St. Joe

Class 1A
1. Reggie Kohn, Orlando Christian Prep
2. Justin Jackson, Jacksonville-Arlington Country Day
3. Joe Dawson, Grandview Prep