Posted: 3:06 pm Wednesday, November 24th, 2010

Football: Lou Groza award finalists announced 

By Matt Porter

The Palm Beach County Sports Commission announced the finalists for its Palm Beach County Player of the Year, Coach of the Year, Team of the Year and Placekicker of the Year awards.

Ten area players and coaches are up for the awards, which will be announced at the 19th annual Lou Groza Awards banquet Dec. 7 at the Kravis Center in West Palm Beach. A limited number of tables are still available for the event, and can be purchased by calling (561) 233-3180.

Finalists were selected by a panel of more than 70 local representatives of the Palm Beach County high school football community, including head coaches and local media representatives.

The nominees are:

Player of the Year
Jacoby Brissett, Dwyer, Sr.
Tre Mason, Park Vista, Sr.
Nick O’Leary, Dwyer, Sr.

Placekicker of the Year
David Bicknell, Boca Raton, Sr.
Mauro Bondi, West Boca Raton, Sr.
Bobby Puyol, Dwyer, Jr.

Sam Budnyk Coach of the Year
Jack Daniels, Dwyer
Matt Dickmann, Seminole Ridge
Bill Powers, Jupiter Christian
Steve Walsh, Cardinal Newman

Team of the Year
Jupiter Christian
Glades Central

Notes: Mason was a Player of the Year nominee last season . . . Bicknell was a Placekicker of the Year nominee . . . Last year, Daniels became the first repeat Coach of the Year award winner . . . The finalists for the Lou Groza Award for national college placekicker of the year, which will be handed out at the Dec. 7 banquet, are Dan Bailey (Oklahoma State), Danny Hrapmann (Southern Miss.) and David Ruffer (Notre Dame).


  1. [...] targets TE Nick O’Leary and QB Jacoby Brissett have been nominated for the Palm Beach County Player of the Year. Both players go to Dwyer High who has been nominated as team of the year. Congratulations to [...]