Posted: 3:51 pm Wednesday, November 16th, 2011

Nike South Florida All-Star Football Game expands into Palm Beach County, Treasure Coast 

By Matt Porter

For 17 years, the postseason all-star game between Miami-Dade and Broward Counties has been of high interest to fans in those football hotbeds.

Now players and fans from our area get a piece of the action.

The Nike South Florida All-Star Football Game this year will be played under a new format this year, pitting Miami-Dade County’s top seniors against some of the best from Broward County, Palm Beach County and the Treasure Coast.

The game is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. Saturday, Dec. 23 at Traz Powell Stadium in North Miami. Tickets are $10.

“We have enjoyed 17 years of success with athletes from Dade and Broward participating,” game director Wesley Frater said in a press release. “This year we aim to provide this same opportunity to student-athletes from Key West to the Treasure Coast.”

Twelve area schools are represented in the game, headlined by Glades Central, which sends five stars: receiver Jaime Wilson, linebackers Jatavis Brown, Dominique Gibson and Don’Kevious Johnson and safety Cre’von LeBlanc.

Other area players selected: Jupiter quarterback Tyler Cameron, American Heritage lineman Kelly Parfitt; Atlantic lineman Ostone Medeus; Benjamin tackle Trenton Saunders; Boynton Beach tackle Decarreus Mason; Jensen Beach linemen Curtis Csonka and Will McVeigh; Jupiter Christian wide receiver Austin Talbott, linebacker Ryan Marsh, quarterback Kedric Bostic, and athlete Isaiah Nelson; Martin County safety Justin Simmons; Pahokee linebacker Cordel Walkes; Palm Beach Central defensive end Gabriel Terry and tackle Edens Sineace; and Palm Beach Gardens defensive end Cameran Napier.

Miami-Washington’s Tim Harris will coach the Miami-Dade team, while Pompano Beach-Blanche Ely’s Rodney Gray heads the South Florida team, made up of Broward, Palm Beach and T-Coast players.

Prior to the game, players will visit the Miami Children’s Hospital on Dec. 18 and participate in four days of practice from Dec. 19-22. Miami-Dade will practice from 9-11 a.m. at Moore Park on 36th Street and NW 7th Ave in Miami. The Broward-Palm Beach team will practice from 5-7 p.m. at Mitchell Moore Park in Pompano Beach. Practices are open to the public.

* * *


AMERICAN: Larry Hope (DB).

BELEN JESUIT: Imani Davis (RB/DB), Frankie Hernandez (S) and Alfonso Horner (DE).

BOOKER T. WASHINGTON: Jovon Wooten, Famous McKinnon (DB), Keyvon Caffey (LB) and Josier Residor (OL).
BRADDOCK: Robert Conyers (OL) and Gabriel Labrador (OL).

CAROL CITY: Brandon Snell (WR).

CENTRAL: Devin Rollins (DE), Brian Nicholson (LB), Josh Ballesteros (LB), Darreal Joyner (WR).

CHRISTOPHER COLUMBUS: Brandon Radcliff (RB), Eddie Garcia (OL).

CORAL REEF: Lamar Bynum (OL/DL), Julian Leslie (DE), Corey Griffin (LB), Vernon Davis (DB) and Darius Hall (LB).

HIALEAH: Gheirry van der Kuyp (WR/DB) and Andy Garcia (LB).

HOMESTEAD: Herbert Waters (WR) and James Burgess (LB).

JACKSON: DeAndre Jasper (WR), Willie Quinn (WR).

NORLAND: Ereck Flowers (OL), Teko Powell (DL), Keith Brown (LB)

NORTHWESTERN: E.J. Hilliard (QB), Amari Cooper (QB), Elston Lane (WR), Imarjaye Albury (DL), Eric Kinsey (DE), Billy Rolle III (LB).

NORTH MIAMI: Derek Polydor (DL).


SOUTHRIDGE: Roosevelt Donaldson (DL) and Ne’Quan Phillips (DB).

SOUTH DADE: Torry Clayton (RB)

SOUTH MIAMI: A.J. Leggett Jr. (DB).

VARELA: Jordan Armstrong (ATH).


AMERICAN HERITAGE (Delray): Kelly Parfitt (OL).

ATLANTIC: Ostone Medeus (DL).

BENJAMIN: Trenton Saunders (OL).

BLANCHE ELY: Darrien Allen (WR), Charlie Thompson (LB) and Robert Scott (RB).

BOYD ANDERSON: Bruce Natson (WR).

BOYNTON BEACH: Decarreus Mason (OL).

CARDINAL GIBBONS: Nicco Whigham (DB) and Erick Hallmon (LB).


CYPRESS Bay: Danny Isisdora (OL).

DILLARD: Ryan Brown (RB).


EVERGLADES: Cristian Staples (LB).


GLADES CENTRAL: Jaime Wilson (WR), Jatavis Brown (LB), Dominque Gibson OLB), Don’kevious Johnson (LB) and Cre’von Blanc (DB).

HALLANDALE: Darnell Bloom (DB) and Sean Walters (DB).

HOLLYWOOD HILLS: Terry Harden (DB) and Jean Marc Charles (DL).

JENSEN BEACH: Curtis Csonka (OL) and Will McVeigh (OL/DL).

JUPITER: Tyler Cameron (QB).

JUPITER CHRISTIAN: Austin Talbott (WR), Ryan Marsh (LB), Kedric Bostic (QB) and Isaiah Nelson (WR/DB).

MARTIN COUNTY: Justin Simmons (S).

MCARTHUR: Devon Morris (LB) and Derrick Walker (RB).

MIRAMAR: Devonte Mathis (WR), Malcolm Lewis (WR) and Tracy Howard (DB).

NORTHEAST: Jalen Jackson (DB), Kevis Jones (WR), Jeremy Glinton (WR), Kameron Davis (OL) and Brandon Thompson (QB).

PAHOKEE: Cordel Walkes (LB).

PALM BEACH CENTRAL: Gabriel Terry (DE) and Edens Sineace (OL).


SOUTH BROWARD: Antonio Harris (S).

WESTERN: Gavin Ricketts (DL).

STRANAHAN: Frantz Joseph (OL).

UNIVERSITY: Macgarrett Kings (WR), Daniel Braverman (WR), Rickey Perez (K/P), Abraham Garcia (OL), Daniel Perry (DL).