Posted: 1:16 pm Thursday, March 28th, 2013

Hoops: Grandview Prep’s Ivan Canete wins Class 2A Player of the Year 

By Jeff Greer

As if there was any doubt about the Class 2A Florida Dairy Farmers Player of the Year award, a Thursday announcement from the organization confirmed it.

Grandview Prep’s star guard Ivan Canete won the award rather easily, averaging 24 points 7.5 rebounds, 4.6 assists, 1.3 blocks and 1.2 steals a game for the state champion Pride. His coach, Joe Dawson, won the class’s Coach of the Year award.

The winners of each class’s player of the year award automatically becomes a candidate for Florida Mr. Basketball.

Here’s the full list of class-by-class players of the year:

1A – Chris Walker, Holmes County
2A – Ivan Canete, Grandview Prep
3A – Grayson Allen, Providence
4A – Joel Berry, Lake Highland Prep
5A – Erik Thomas, Wesley Chapel
6A – Zachary Johnson, Norland
7A – Chris Perry, Bartow
8A – RaShawn Powell, Dr. Phillips

Coaches of the year:

1A – Poe White, Holmes County
2A – Joe Dawson, Grandview Prep
3A – Jim Martin, Providence
4A – Jeff Turner, Lake Highland Prep
5A – Neal Goldman, Tampa Jesuit
6A – Lawton Williams III, Norland
7A – Melvin Randall, Blanche Ely
8A – Josh Kohn, Oviedo Hagerty