High School Buzz 

Girls soccer: Palm Beach Central’s Yulie Lopez a Miss Soccer finalist

  • 6:00 pm Tuesday, February 12th, 2013 by Matt Porter

Yulie Lopez was far and away the best player in Palm Beach County this season, but the rest of the state didn’t overlook her talent. [More]

Softball: Gardens’ Shelby Turnier, Jupiter’s Steve Ahern win state awards

  • 10:19 am Tuesday, May 15th, 2012 by Jeff Greer

Florida Dairy Farmers is set to announce the class-by-class players and coaches of the year Tuesday, and two locals will be among the winners.


Volleyball: Florida Dairy Farmers announce Walch, Schmidt and Reid award winners

  • 10:54 am Friday, November 18th, 2011 by Jeff Greer

Martin County is used to getting awards for volleyball, so it shouldn’t be a surprise that the Tigers did well in the Florida Dairy Farmers class-by-class awards.


American Heritage’s Sam Perretty, Steve Burgess win Class 2A soccer awards

  • 2:58 pm Friday, April 2nd, 2010 by Jason Lieser

The one thing American Heritage goalie Sam Perretty said she wanted before she graduated was a state title. She got that in February, and today she picked up one of the most impressive individual honors in the state.

Glades Day RB Kelvin Taylor finishes 8th in Mr. Football voting

  • 10:52 am Friday, January 22nd, 2010 by Jason Lieser

The Florida Dairy Farmers officially announced former Dwyer star Matt Elam as 2009’s Mr. Football this morning. Glades Day running back Kelvin Taylor, the Class 1B Player of the Year, finished eighth in the voting.

Kelvin Taylor, Matt Elam named finalists for Mr. Football; no area coaches win awards

  • 10:16 am Thursday, January 7th, 2010 by Jason Lieser

Glades Day running back Kelvin Taylor and Dwyer linebacker Matt Elam were voted Player of the Year in their respective classifications and now are finalists for the state’s prestigious Mr. Football award.

Stephanie Schappert a runner-up for Runner of the Year

  • 3:28 pm Tuesday, December 22nd, 2009 by Jason Lieser

Pope John Paul II junior Stephanie Schappert, a two-time state champion in cross country, finished third in the statewide voting for Runner of the Year.